Connect with us


Max Verstappen Secures First Win as Triple F1 World Champion

Max Verstappen won his first race as a triple Formula One world champion in a pitstop-heavy Qatar Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen secured his first win as a triple Formula One world champion in a Qatar Grand Prix characterized by numerous pitstops and penalties for track limit violations.

Verstappen, driving for Red Bull, dominated the race from pole position, securing his 14th win in 17 races and his career’s 49th victory. His win came shortly after clinching his third successive world title in a Saturday sprint.

Australian rookie Oscar Piastri finished second, with McLaren’s Lando Norris taking third place. The race turned into a three-stop contest due to concerns about tire blowouts.

Verstappen’s Performance:

Verstappen’s victory was decisive, with him never appearing under pressure and even setting the fastest lap. Team boss Christian Horner praised his performance as a “proper quality drive.”

Early Drama:

The race saw drama early on, with Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz ruled out due to a fuel system problem. Mercedes teammates George Russell and Lewis Hamilton collided at the first corner, with Hamilton initially accusing Russell but later retracting the blame.

 Race Results:

Russell finished fourth, Charles Leclerc of Ferrari took fifth place, and Fernando Alonso of Aston Martin secured sixth. 

Esteban Ocon from Alpine finished seventh, followed by the Alfa Romeo duo of Valtteri Bottas and Guanyu Zhou in eighth and ninth, respectively. Red Bull’s Sergio Perez received a five-second post-race penalty, dropping him to 10th place.

Verstappen attributed his success to his first stint, allowing him to manage his pace and tire condition effectively. 

He recognized the strong performance of McLaren drivers and described the race as challenging due to the sweltering desert heat, even at night.

Penalties for Track Limits Violations:

Several drivers, including Perez, Lance Stroll, Pierre Gasly, and Alex Albon, received time penalties for multiple track limit violations during the race. Stroll, Gasly, and Albon faced a total penalty of 10 seconds each.

Max Verstappen’s victory solidifies his position as the F1 world champion, maintaining a substantial lead in the championship standings.

Get all the latest update on UAE Times Now

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *