23 C
Thursday, January 20, 2022

India Australia Test Series: Australia take the lead

Must read

This is India’s lowest innings score in 544 Tests

In a bizarre turn of events, Australia defeated India in the 1st test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, played at Adelaide, Oval. On the third day of the 1st day-night test, Australia bundled out Indian innings for a shocking 36 runs. This is the lowest score from any Indian team to date in the 88 years of Test cricket.

At the start of the third day, India resumed their 2nd innings on 9 runs for a loss of 1 wicket. After that, nothing turned right for India. They were down by 9 wickets, adding 27 runs on the scoreboard before Mohammed Shami got retired hurt to end the inning. Josh Hazelwood and Pat Cummins produced probably one of the most memorable spells of their careers. They both ended up taking five and four wickets, respectively.

The spellbinding display from the pace bowling duo left Australia requiring a mere 90 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the four-match test series, which Australia scored with the loss of 2 wickets. Australian opener Joe burns scored a half-century to lead the chase.

Earlier, on day 2, in reply to India’s 1st innings score, Australia managed to score 191/10 and left India with a lead of 53 runs. 

Lowest inning total

 In 544 Tests India played so far, this was the lowest score in an inning. India surpassed its previous lowest score of 42 in Test crickets, which came in 1974 against England. Only four teams have managed to score fewer runs in the history of the format.

Double blow to India

Indian pacer Mohammed Shami got injured while trying to leave a bouncer from Pat Cummins. The ball hit him on the forearm. It was a double blow to India as he did not bowl in the second inning of Australia.

India will be worried over the fitness of Mohammed Shami for the 2nd Test starting from December 26in Melbourne. The Indian team is also going to play the remainder of the series without Virat Kohli. He is returning to India for the birth of his child.

Also read: Hardik Pandya sails India to series win

Visit further: Cricbuzz


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article