Connect with us

Event Coverage

Adek Awards Abu Dhabi’s Best Schools and Teachers, Honors Excellence in Education

Adek Awards Abu Dhabi's Best Schools and Teachers, Honors Excellence in Education

The Department of Education and Knowledge (Adek) in Abu Dhabi celebrated excellence in education by recognizing outstanding teachers and schools at an awards ceremony held at Emirates Palace. More than 25 exceptional educators and educational institutions were honored during the event, receiving a total of Dh3.6 million ($980,000) in prizes across various categories.

The Adek Awards 2024, aimed at acknowledging remarkable achievements in Abu Dhabi’s education sector, showcased exemplary individuals, schools, and initiatives contributing to the advancement of education in the emirate. A distinguished panel of 35 judges meticulously evaluated over 300 nominations from public, private, and charter schools to select the deserving winners.

Mayoor Private School was lauded with the Best Inclusive Practices Award, receiving Dh300,000, while Bright Riders School earned Dh200,000 for being recognized as the Best Improved School. Additionally, sixteen schools were each awarded Dh125,000 for meeting Abu Dhabi’s educational standards benchmark.

Principal Anna Pagdiwala from Mayoor School Abu Dhabi emphasized the institution’s commitment to addressing students’ diverse needs, emphasizing a culture of inclusivity and active listening to students. She highlighted the school’s dedication to providing special needs support without additional charges, reflecting a genuine commitment to student welfare.

The Liwa International School for Girls was honored with the Best Professional Development Programme award, receiving Dh150,000. Abu Dhabi International Private School and Liwa International School in Al Falaj Hazaa were recognized for their outstanding Reading and Arabic Programmes, respectively, each receiving Dh150,000.

Furthermore, Al Ain Junior School was commended for its exceptional Parental Engagement, and Mohammed Bin Khalid Al Nahyan Generations School received accolades for its outstanding Student Wellbeing Programme, with each school receiving Dh100,000 in recognition of their contributions.

Individual excellence was also celebrated at the Adek Awards, with five exceptional educators being honored with Dh50,000 each. Salama Al Mazrouei from Qatr Al Nada High School was awarded the prestigious Principal of the Year title, while Mariam Mohammed Jumma Al Jaberi from Mubarak Bin Mohammed School was recognized as the Outstanding Teacher in the early and primary years category.

Hanan Fathy Salim from Yasmina British Academy received the award for Outstanding Teacher for Arabic Literacy and Culture, and Amal Al Shriti from Liwa International School, Falaj Hazaa branch, was honored with the Unsung Hero award. Sadiq Amin Khan from Islamiya English School received recognition as the Outstanding Teacher in the secondary school category.

The award recipients expressed gratitude for the acknowledgment of their efforts and highlighted their commitment to providing quality education and shaping the future generation. They emphasized the importance of innovative teaching methods, student engagement, and fostering critical thinking skills to prepare students for future challenges.

The Adek Awards serve as a testament to the dedication and excellence demonstrated by educators and educational institutions in Abu Dhabi, reaffirming the emirate’s commitment to fostering a culture of learning and educational advancement.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *